fbpx

Dear Friends,

We have a humanitarian crisis on our border. Rachel Leigh Hennessey, a caseworker for Bethany Christian Services, helps immigrant children become reunited with their families. It’s an incredibly emotional–and complicated–job.

These children need help. According to Ms. Hennessey, children arrive by whatever means (most of them are in unsafe conditions) with absolutely nothing but the clothes they are wearing. At Ms. Hennessey’s facility, they are kept safe, given school lessons, medical care, and any and all other needs. Finally, they are placed in foster care, until their families can be identified, including complete background checks, ensuring that children are going to a safe environment.

These children are in need of the following items: clothes, especially socks and underwear (both boys and girls, up to 12 years old); backpacks; school supplies; toiletries; and more.

Bethany Christian Services is a non-profit organization that relies on donations. If you can purchase any of these materials, please mail them to the following Bethany Christian Services at the following address:

Bethany Christian Services
Attn: Rachel Hennessey
7168 Graham Rd.
Indianapolis, IN 46250

When it comes to lending a hand, you (our Haas Hall friends, faculty, and families) are among the most compassionate people we know. If you can help, Ms. Hennessey will ensure that your donations are put to proper use.

These innocent children need our help. They had nothing to do with creating this situation, yet they are paying the dearest price. We realize this is a controversial issue for some, but we are focusing on helping the children, rather than focusing on the political aspects of this situation.

Should you have any questions, please contact Tyler Mizner at tyler.mizner@haashall.org; Andrew Schweitzer at andrew.schweitzer@haashall.org; Ellis Hanby at ellis.hanby@haashall.org; Haleena Sharif at haleena.sharif@haashall.org; Julia Mizner at julia.mizner@haashall.org; Taylor Lyle at taylor.lyle@haashall.org; Jyothika Arunkumar at jyothika.arunkumar@haashall.org; Isaac Aguero at isaac.aguero@haashall.org; Pranav Neupane at pranav.neupane@haashall.org; Isabella McCleary at isabella.mccleary@haashall.org; and/or Mrs. Kate at katherinecochran@haashall.org.

Thank you in advance for any help you might be able to provide!

Sincerely,
Beta Officers

Leave A Comment

You must be logged in to post a comment.