fbpx

Black History Month Spirit Week — Feb. 16th, 17th, & 18th

Hello, Huskies!

In honor of Black History Month, Beta Club and Aaleyah Jackson are hosting a Spirit Week to remind scholars of amazing African Americans–and to honor their lives!

Tuesday, February 16th, is “Gym Shoes Rule Day!”
Let our shoes remind us we walk together toward equity, equality, and justice. Let’s remember the many marches held during the Civil Rights Movement, and the current efforts many are still working toward ensuring equity, equality, and justice for all. As Maya Angelou states: “My mission in life is not merely to survive, but to thrive; and to do so with some passion, some compassion, some humor, and some style.”

Wednesday, February 17th, is “Dr. Who? Day!”
Dr. Charles Drew was the first African American to obtain his medical degree from Columbia University. He revolutionized medicine with plasma and blood donation, and he led the efforts to have enough blood for the United States troops during World War II. Dress like a doctor in honor of Dr. Drew!

Thursday, February 18th, is “OUTTA This World Day!”
In honor of the Black women who helped America make it to space, wear something out of this world!

Dress up to celebrate Black History Month–and the many accomplishments of African Americans–of past and present!

If you have any questions, please contact Aaleyah Jackson at aaleyah.jackson@haashall.org; Tyler Mizner at tyler.mizner@haashall.org; Andrew Schweitzer at andrew.schweitzer@haashall.org; Ellis Hanby at ellis.hanby@haashall.org; Haleena Sharif at haleena.sharif@haashall.org; Julia Mizner at julia.mizner@haashall.org; Taylor Lyle at taylor.lyle@haashall.org; Jyothika Arunkumar at jyothika.arunkumar@haashall.org; Isaac Aguero at isaac.aguero@haashall.org; Pranav Neupane at pranav.neupane@haashall.org; Isabella McCleary at isabella.mccleary@haashall.org; and/or Mrs. Kate at katherinecochran@haashall.org.

Leave A Comment

You must be logged in to post a comment.