Several scholars have come to us requesting to ride with another scholar to the services. Arkansas law states the following:
The three levels of licensing are learners (must be at least 14 years of age), intermediate (must be at least 16 years of age) and regular licenses (must be at least 18 years of age).
The learner’s license is the beginning drivers’ license issued to a person at least 14 years of age, and expires on the licensee’s 16th birth date. Applicants may qualify for a learner’s license by passing the written and road tests given by the Arkansas State Police, passing the vision exam and having no serious accidents or traffic convictions in the most recent six months.
(Serious accidents and traffic convictions are defined below.)
Restrictions on a learner’s license are:
All passengers must have seat belts attached at all times
Shall not use a cellular telephone or other interactive wireless communication device while driving, except for emergency purposes
The driver must be accompanied by a licensed driver 21 years of age or older
Upon the expiration of a learner’s license (the person’s 16th birthday), the person may apply for an intermediate driver’s license
The intermediate license is issued to persons ages 16 to 18, and expires on the person’s 18th birthday. Applicants who have a learner’s license may move up to the intermediate license only if they have no serious accidents or serious traffic convictions within the most recent six months.
Passengers in a vehicle driven by a person with an intermediate license must have seat belts attached at all times. If the applicant for an intermediate license has an accident or serious traffic conviction within the most recent six months, he/she must retain the learner’s license until such time that their record is clear of such accidents or traffic convictions for a six-month period. In this case, the re-issued learner’s license will have an expiration date equal to the end of six months from the conviction or accident date. If, on that expiration date, no further accidents or serious violations have occurred, an intermediate license will be issued.
Any person under age 18 requires adult presence in the car for a minimum of six months. Therefore, if a person obtains his/her first license at age 17, (intermediate license) the license must have the adult restriction for a six-month period or until age 18. If the licensee has satisfied the six-month adult restriction, the intermediate license allows the licensee to drive alone. A driver with an intermediate driver’s license shall not use a cellular telephone or other interactive wireless communication device while driving, except for emergency purposes.
Applicants for an intermediate driver’s license issued on or after July 31, 2009 are required to sign an acknowledgement that they understand these restrictions:
Prohibited from operating a motor vehicle with more than one unrelated minor passenger, unless accompanied by a licensed driver 21 years of age or older
Prohibited from operating a motor vehicle between the hours of 11:00 pm and 4:00 am unless the licensee is: accompanied by a person 21 years of age or older, driving to or from a school activity, church-related activity, or job, or driving because of an emergency.
Unless an adult is with them, only one scholar may ride with someone. A parent must provide the school with a written note that states that they give permission for their scholar to ride with that particular scholar. If no note is given, or more is intending to ride with the scholar than the law allows, other arrangements will need to be made.